Silchester Players

Silchester Players

Performing since 1976

AGM Minutes

23RD JUNE 2014 AT 8.00 P.M.


Clive Solomons, Sarah Oliver, Mark Larby, Peter Reynolds, Keith Graham, Tim Oliver, Beryl Oliver, Stephen Oliver, Caroline Martin, Mari Fleming, Stephen Bibby, Joan May, Roy Glancey, Brian Gillett, Jill Gillett, Grace Larby, Claire Humphreys.

1. Apologies

Apologies of absence were received from Janet Taylor, Jim and Michelle McKnight, Derek Heath, Nick and Cheryl Lock, Tony Oliver, Mandy Larby, Natalie Edgson, Charlotte Oliver, Rachel Oliver and Mairi Oliver.

2. Minutes of the A.G.M. held on 24th June 2013

The minutes of the A.G.M. held on 24th June 2013 were circulated. These were approved by members as being a true record of the proceedings: proposed by Jill Gillett; seconded by Mari Fleming.

3. Matters Arising
3.1. New Keyboard – Pete Reynolds has dismantled and cleaned connections, etc. on both of our keyboards. The main one was used for the pantomime and the large “dummy” one was used for practice in “Stepping Out”, both without any issue, so at the moment there is no concern about having to buy a new one. Thanks to Pete for taking the time to use his specialist skills.

4. Annual Reports

4.1. The Chairman, Clive Solomons, gave his report.
4.2. The Secretary, Sarah Oliver, gave her report.
4.3. The Treasurer, Mark Larby, presented the Accounts. Mark proposed, as per Committee agreement, that we donate £1000 per show to charity; this was agreed by the attendees. The accounts show that we have about £16,000 in the bank, with £5,000 to go out in charity payments; a certain balance is required to allow us to re-tool in the future, such as replace the lighting equipment which is getting very close to end of life.

5. Receive and adopt the Accounts

The Accounts were proposed by Joan May and seconded by Stephen Oliver.

6. Subscriptions

The Treasurer proposed that subscriptions should remain at £8 for adults, £5 for juniors up to the age of 18, and £16 for families. This year subscription income has not quite covered NODA membership and insurance costs; it was noted that membership revenues were down on previous year. This shortfall will be covered by funds for this year, and will be reviewed next year. This proposal was seconded by Tim Oliver.

7. Appointment of Auditor

The appointment of the auditor, John Coffin, was proposed by Mark Larby and seconded by Caroline Martin. John has agreed to waive his fee (£100) and wishes this to be donated to an Oxfordshire hospice charity.

8. Election of the Committee

The Chairman advised the meeting that all members of the Committee were standing again for re-election. The following nominations had been received:


Mark Larby, Clive Solomons, Sarah Oliver, Roy Glancey, Jill Gillett, Brian Gillett, Tim Oliver and Pete Reynolds.

These members were voted en bloc following a proposal by Claire Humphreys.

Tim noted that Keith Graham was not standing for the Committee this year and, with the rest of the attendees, thanked Keith for his 26 years’ service on the Committee.

9. Any Other Business


There being no further business to discuss, the Chairman thanked members for attending and closed the meeting at 8.19pm.